Blaze your own trail

Inspiration strikes at funny times. At 1am, when I was laying in bed trying to fall asleep, well, that wasn’t when I was imagining a blog post to pop into my head. As tempted as I was to grab my netbook and start writing, sleep seems to have won over because here I am the next day without a clear idea of what I wanted to say.

I do have one thing to say though – I am too lenient with myself and my goals. I’m working on it, but I need hold myself up to the high standards I have for everything else in my life, and not let things slide so often.

The online communities around Twitter, Facebook and the wonderful world of blogging amaze me. There are opportunities abound to connect with people in ways that most certainly were not possible ten years ago. People like me, undergrads thirsty for more knowledge about the “real” world, are incredibly lucky that all these resources are available.

The sheer number of resources, though, sometimes overwhelms me. Literally. When I sit down to write a blog post, or pound out some writing topics, my brain goes in about ten different directions. Problem? I usually leave Twitter up, so I see all of the brilliant things the people I follow are writing about. And while what they write about is certainly awesome and inspiring, I need to turn them off for a while to hear my own inner voice.

It’s a good thing to find inspiration and direction from others, but if I’m constantly trying to follow the paths of others I will never blaze my own trail, and that is the only way I’ll ever grow and stand out as an individual. (Side note: I think the theme of Girl Scout camp when I was about seven years old was, “Blaze Your Own Trail,” and 13 years later, here I am using that forgotten phrase all over again.)

I know I do better in situations where I am challenged and alone. But if you talk to me during those situations, I would do just about anything for help. My freshman year of college and my semester in Lima were two of the most challenging times in my short life thus far. Looking at the aftermath, though, shows me all I am capable of when faced with adversity. I am stronger than I let myself believe, more capable than the average life I sometimes allow myself to lead.

This is a call to action – for myself, and for anyone else who has realized they aren’t living up to their fullest potential. I’m not saying I’ll be producing earth-shattering, mind-blowing content on a regular basis, but I will push myself further, despite the fact I do not have adversity working against me currently.

At the very least, you can expect ideas and musings on what it’s like to be a twenty-year-old making her own way in a wildly exciting, rapidly changing world.

2 responses to “Blaze your own trail

  1. Hey girl — I am loving the new blog! And it’s funny, because it was one of the goals floating around in MY head to start a blog similar to this one for myself. But I wasn’t letting myself find the time to write and maintain, so I have let the project go … until now. I had begun to write at the beginning of the year for a new blog, but found myself thinking, “Who is actually going to care about this?” And I think that’s part of the reason why I stopped. But now … you’ve definitely given me the inspiration to give it another a go!! So, once I get that up and running, I would love to know what you think about it. Congrats on the blog, and keep up the good work!

    Un besitoooo.

    • Thanks girl! I’m so happy you like it because your opinion means a lot to me. I’m already loving what you have to say over at Defying Gravity and I can’t wait to hear more. Here’s to the fabulous #28DayChallenge!

Leave a Reply

