#SOBCon2010 entry, or My BlogCrush confession

There’s a pretty cool contest going down over at Terry Starbucker‘s site. He’s holding a contest and the winner gets a free ticket to SOBCon2010, travel and lodging expenses included. A pretty sweet deal, considering all of the amazing people that will be there. For more information on what SOBCon is, go here.

Full disclosure: I do not personally know the person I’m about to write about. Not sure if that’s breaking the rules, but she has made a difference in my life, even though she has no idea who the hell I am. Here we go!

Sometime last year, I started to really get into Twitter, you know, the point where you stop following just people you know IRL and start following people who have more interesting things to contribute than where they are and what they’re doing. I began adding a whole bunch of people in the media world and they all kind of blended together into crazy creative contributors who overwhelmed me with awesome content and link overload.

Then one day, a blog I follow featured Sydney Owen. That post made her stand out from the blend of people I was following, and I decided to start following her blog. I quickly learned she was not an industry veteran with tons of experience under her belt but, in fact, only a few years ahead of me. Fresh out of college, Sydney provided an honest perspective on so many things I had been wondering about, and in a really approachable way.

You know how sometimes you get lost in the technical references and jargon some bloggers integrate into their writing, and eventually you feel like they’re out of your league? Sydney doesn’t write like that. She breaks things down into layman’s terms and makes amazing things seem like anyone can do them.

Once I got started, I liked what I read so much that I went back to the beginning. She did everything right, exactly how I wanted to do it. Reading her tips on internships, SXSW and relocating for a job, among other things, got me really excited about the future. When I got to her post about the Meyers-Briggs personality types, I took the test and was thrilled to find I was an ENFP, meant to work with people and generate new ideas.

Terry Starbucker said I should write about how this person made my life easier, better, smarter, more productive and more meaningful. Sydney made my life easier by showing me breaking into our evolving profession is not impossible, and her blog showed me all of the possibilities. My life is better because of her because when I started reading her story, the refreshing, genuine perspective she wrote from hit home. She reinvigorated my passion for strategic communications when I was starting to wonder if it was a good fit for me. I feel smarter about PR thanks to her tips and advice, and when she made the transition from Sydney Owen on: New Media & PR to Sydney: Unfiltered, her writing became more personal and seeing that side of her made me realize you can learn and write about yourself while still educating and learning from others.

Some bloggers have mindcrushes, others have BlogCrushes. I haven’t taken part in that (yet) but if I had to have a, “first,” it would be Sydney Owen. Maybe someday I’ll get to meet her and thank her for the awesome impact she’s made on me, but otherwise this was a great way for me to express my gratitude and possibly meet some more amazing individuals like her.

Who inspires you? Have you told them in a more direct, less strange way?

14 responses to “#SOBCon2010 entry, or My BlogCrush confession

  1. Hey, thanks Leia for this post – you are entered in the contest! What a great example of how we all can draw inspiration from the wonderful folks who share their learning and insights. Hope to see you in Chicago!

    Regards,
    Terry

    • Thanks Terry! It was an opportunity I couldn’t pass up, so thank you for thinking of a great contest idea. Hope to see you soon too!

  2. This is so flattering Leia, thank you! I hope we can connect soon, I’d love to meet you! Don’t hesitate to holler with any questions, I’m always happy to answer!

    Thanks again and keep up the good work!

    • That would be awesome if we could connect soon! I’d love to hear more about what you do, and bounce some ideas off you. I agree with Mari’s idea πŸ™‚ In the meantime I’ll keep reading as we keep up with the #28DayChallenge!

  3. I’m so glad that I was the random connector to bring you and Sydney together. She’s one of my very favorite people. We’ll all have to grab lunch sometime!

    Noodle soup, I say. πŸ™‚

    • Wow, I can’t believe I never made the connection between your blog and Foiled Cupcakes! I’m totally your fan on Facebook, but truth be told, mostly read it from Google Reader. That would be awesome if we did lunch sometime, I’d love to try some of your cupcakes and meet both of you fabulous ladies in person! Just say the word and I’m there πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Inspiration to Embrace Uncertainty

  5. Hi Leia!
    Just got home from Blissdom and read your post. Tweeted it too! What a great example of the effect we have on each other. Thank you for sharing this with us.

    Like Terry, I sure hope to see you in Chicago, too!

  6. I think this is a great post – and it shows the power of social media. You never know who is listening, do you?

    My first SM crush? Chris Brogan, quickly followed by Becky McCray. Both who reached out to me and had conversations and became friends.

    Now I get to see what you are doing too!

    @debworks

    • Wow, those are both awesome success stories of reaching out to your SM crushes! Chris Brogan is one of my favorites too, and I’ll have to start following Becky McCray. Can’t wait to hear what you have to say, I’ll add you to my Google Reader.

  7. Pingback: Only Hours Left!! Look Who’s Entered to Win a FREE SOBCon Trip β€” OR Get a $250 Discount | Liz Strauss at Successful Blog

Leave a Reply

