The power of education: Teacher appreciation

This week I wrote about online education, and the importance of learning other languages, but I left out the most important part of education: Teachers. Where would we be without the people who have the knowledge we seek, the ones who are absolutely instrumental to our lifelong education?

The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.
– William A. Ward

Teachers are all around us. They are our parents, our friends, people we follow online – anyone who has broadened our perspectives, anyone who we’ve walked away from feeling smarter and more fulfilled. And like the quote above says, the best teachers are the ones who inspire us to do more, to pay those generous actions forward.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I feel like I’ve learned a lot. And I start to feel pretty confident. It’s easy to forget to thank the people who you’ve learned from. I, for one, have barely thanked any of the people who have taught me how to utilize social media to my advantage. Not that I’m some “guru” (ugh) or expert, but I feel like I’ve got a better-than-average grasp compared to many kids my age, and I feel fortunate and grateful to be (hopefully) a bit ahead of the curve. That’s not to mention all of the wonderful people who I have the privilege of spending time with in my daily life.

So, to conclude, I’m going to thank the people from whom I have learned significantly during this last year of my life. I’ve picked up a lot from you, whether you know it – unlikely – or not – more likely, because online I lurk and read but rarely comment, something I plan to change very soon.

Thank you Rebecca, James, Elle, Scott, Matt, Rich, Jamie, Grace, Jenny, Andrew, Penelope and Sydney. I’ve turned to you when I needed career and personal advice, and I’ve learned more about (social) media and what it takes to become a successful, motivated person from you.

Thank you Therese, Rose, Katy, Jackie and Drew. You have supported me through one roller coaster after another – from a tough first year of college to a semester away far, far away from all of you. Thank you so much for your support and teaching me what a good friend is.

Thank you to everyone I met in Peru, especially Julia, Colleena, Kelly, and the people at the hogar. One year ago I never could have imagined what an impact you could make on me in such a short time. You taught me to be stronger, less fearful and more enthusiastic to tackle the unknown. From you I learned to finally put others’ needs before my own. Estoy agradecida a ustedes para siempre.

Thank you Mom, Dad, Nick and Grandma. You’re the biggest teachers of all. Everything I am today is a reflection of who you are and what you’ve taught me. I’m pretty happy with the direction I’m headed in, and I would be nowhere without you. Thank you doesn’t even begin to cover it.

You inspire me, all in different ways, and for that, I thank you for being the best teachers I could ever ask for.

6 responses to “The power of education: Teacher appreciation

  1. Aw, this was so touching. I agree with you so much about teachers. They’re all around us and each are so very important to our livelihood and growth.

    I’m so happy you were able to learn from me and others. Teaching and learning never stops and often times, the teacher can learn from the ‘student’ or pupil too πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you! One of my favorite things is thanking the people who helped me get where I am today, and I agree too many people forget. It’s an honor to be included among your list and I’m looking forward to continuing to follow your blog.

  3. Thank you! I really like the quote you posted about the best teachers inspiring. I’ve had plenty of good teachers, but the great ones were those who sparked something in me that made me want to continue to learn on my own.

    I’m so looking forward to the SMC Meeting on Tuesday. I have a feeling it’s going to pull a great group of people together. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!

  4. Thank you Leia – very much appreciated. You are doing the right thing by surrounding yourself with so many brilliant people – not even talking about myself, if you can believe that πŸ˜‰ – Keep nurturing those friendships and relationships, and never hesitate in reaching out to expand your network moving forward. Cheers!

  5. @All of you: Thank you for being great foundations of support. The advice and opinions you publicly dispense on your blogs are great sources of council and inspiration for many beyond me, I’m sure of that!

  6. gracias a ti hermanita!! me encanto este post πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

