An open heart

Disclosure: I usually write more professionally here, or at least I used to. Again, it’s been entirely too long since I last posted. But I recently caught up on my abandoned Google Reader and connected with Doniree‘s post about open heartedness. Go read her post for more insight, and then you can read mine if you want some simplicity and a touch more personal than usually seen around here.

What does it mean to you to live with an open heart?

Every pain – and victory – is personal. Magnified. I am not and will never be someone who does not take things to heart.

Sadly, I have not developed a hardened outer shell to protect me when life gets rough. So when the blows come, they hit pretty hard.

You know what, though? It’s totally worth it.

Because every victory is that much sweeter. For every little thing that stings, there are two sweeter moments of happiness that resonate down to my core.

So I wouldn’t trade my open heart for the world.

2 responses to “An open heart

  1. I LOVE this. It took me awhile to embrace this, but once you do, realize that feeling more deeply is more rewarding than wearing a shell. 🙂 Also, I kind of want to hug you.

    • Thanks, I loved your original post and wouldn’t have been able to write this without that! Also, thank you for continuing to read despite a lack of consistency on here. It means a lot 🙂

Leave a Reply

