Showing some Chicago love

Norman Mailer called Chicago the last great American city, and Sarah Bernhardt called it the pulse of America. What is it about this great city that has captured many a great person’s love and affection?

For starters, here are a few things that have made this girl happy after just a few short days:

Freebies

There are dozens of free activities going on each week, and I’m going to try to take advantage of as many as possible! Armed with a Chicago Plus Card I’ll be exploring the Chicago Blues Festival and contorting my body into painful positions at a free Saturday morning yoga at Millenium Park this weekend.

Food

Oh the food. And I’m not talking about Starbucks every three blocks. I’ve spotted restaurants selling food from countries I’ve never even heard of. With Taste of Chicago coming up at the end of the month, I can’t wait to try more.

Sports

People here are living and breathing the Blackhawks. Skyscrapers light up at night with the Stanley Cup logo and the Hawks logo is prominently displayed in many storefront windows. Coming from a passionate sports community already, seeing Chicago’s support for their team is something I can appreciate.

Energy

The air is alive with the energy of people constantly moving. Everyone walks with a purpose. While that was initially intimidating, now that I’m beginning to feel more comfortable I enjoy being a part of the purposeful mass movement of Chicagoans to the city’s downtown offices every morning.

My job

Everyone I’ve met seems to be excited about what they do, and I’m excited to join and learn from them. The internship program is awesome and our intern class is made up of some great people.

Why do you love the city you’re in? What made you choose it?

[photo cred]

Leave a Reply

